Home . About Ethiopia . Investing in Ethiopia . Additional Information

Additional Information

Bilateral Investment Treaties (BITs)

Ethiopia has 30 bilateral investment treaties with the following countries: Algeria, Australia, Belgium and Luxembourg, China, Denmark, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Finland, France, Kuwait, Libya, Malaysia, Netherlands, Russia, South Africa, Spain, Sudan, Sweden, Switzerland, Germany, India, Iran, Israel, Italy, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, USA, Yemen.

Double Taxation Avoidance Treaties (DTTs)

Ethiopia has 12 double taxation avoidance treaties with the following countries: Algeria, Czech Republic, France, Israel, Italy, Kuwait, Romania, Russia, South Africa, Tunisia, Turkey and Yemen.

Business Hours

Ethiopia is in the GMT+3 Time Zone. Government offices work 39 hours in a week. Office hours extend from 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. (lunch break from 12.30 p.m. to 1.30 p.m.), Monday through Thursday and from 11.30 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. on Friday.

Banks are generally open from 8.a.m. to 4 p.m. including lunch hours, Monday through Friday. The majority of banks are also open on Sundays and public holidays.

Shops are open until 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday. Some shops, particularly supermarkets, are open on Sundays and public holidays.